Commanding Officers

Commanding Officers


151 Squadron has had ten different commanding officers since its initial formation in 1942.


Major Ron Brosseau CD (2020 – Present)

Major Brosseau was the former squadron DCO and Training Officer.









Major Bert Weigel CD (1986 – 1990,  2017 – 2020)

Major Weigel was the first 151 Squadron Warrant Officer to rise to the Commanding Officer’s position. He was instrumental in the formation of the Squadron’s band.








Major Dale Bliss CD (2003 – 2007, 2012 – Nov 2017)

Major Bliss is the fifth CO to have also been a cadet with this squadron. He joined 151 Squadron in Feb. 1979. He earned the rank of WO2 and was appointed Squadron Warrant Officer prior to retiring at age 19. After leaving the U.S. Army, he came back to his home with Chadburn Squadron. He continues with the squadron.







Major Mario Puglisevich (2007- 2012)

Major Puglisevich started his military career in 1984 as a sea cadet and eventually became an officer with this branch of the service. He decided to broaden his experience and was commissioned as an officer of 151 Squadron in May 1987. He has held many positions including Drill Team Officer, Band Officer, and most recently as Marksmanship Team Officer and DCO. Major Puglisevich moved in 2012 to command the 172 Squadron in Bowmanville before returning to 151 in 2016.






Major Forbes started his career with 288 Kirkland Lake Squadron and rose to WO2 with 151 Squadron. Under his command, the Squadron established a strong and continuing presence on the Internet.  Major Forbes established the Squadron as a significant presence in community service throughout Durham Region.  The Squadron was the focal point for Lloyd Chadburn Day ceremonies in 1994 and received Freedom of the Region during the 60th Anniversary year.  Major Forbes is the author of Gone is the Angel, the biography of Lloyd Chadburn.


Major Rob Forbes CD

(1993-1997, 2000-2003)


Major Garry Burns (1990 -1993, 1997 – 2000)

Major Burns, also a 151 SWO, served two terms as Commanding Officer, he also served as CO of 2, 166, 876, 351, 707  Squadrons. Major Burns also served two terms as the Regional/Area Cadet Advisor and worked extensively at the Trenton Air Cadet Summer Training Centre. Major Burns designed the 151 Squadron Crest for the 50th anniversary year.






Major Stuart Beaton (1982 – 1986)

Major Beaton joined the Squadron as a Civilian Instructor in 1950. He served the Squadron in every capacity prior to assuming the position of Commanding Officer. Following this service, he finished his military career as Central Area Colonel and CO of Borden Air Cadet Camp.






Major Ted Gilbank (1958 – 1982)

Major Gilbank was the first Commanding Officer to rise from the ranks of the cadets of 151 Squadron. His long service established many of the ideals and traditions currently employed at 151 Squadron. He went on to become the Central Area Colonel. After retiring, Lt. Col. Gilbank became a civilian instructor with the Squadron where he is still very active.




FLight Lieutenant Don McLveen (1953 – 1958)

Flight Lieutenant McIlveen was a navigator with the RCAF and joined the ranks of 151 Squadron upon his release from the Regular Force.







Squadron Leader Lawrence Beal (1945 – 1953)

Squadron Leader Beal commanded the Squadron during the difficult post-war period, Bringing it through to its current leadership, citizenship and flying training focus.








Squadron Leader Percy Jobb (1942 – 1945)

Squadron Leader Percy Jobb was a veteran of World War I, where he was a Captain in the Infantry, 136th Battalion. He was wounded at Passchendaele Belgium in 1917.